Review: The Enchanter’s Soul

Review: The Enchanter’s Soul

The Enchanter’s Soul by Michele Notaro
Series: The Ellwood Chronicles #2
Release Date: April 15, 2019
Genres: M/M paranormal romance
Rating: 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟

Many fall as the last enchanter rises…

The first line of the ancient prophecy keeps playing over and over in my head, but I’m afraid to remember the rest. I don’t want to think about what’s coming for us—what’s coming for him. I’ve been keeping Brinnswick safe for years; I’ve been keeping my coven safe my whole life; and now I was responsible for keeping Sebastian safe, too. It shouldn’t have been a problem, he was my vitmea viramore, after all, and I was used to having the weight of the world on my shoulders.

What Seb doesn’t know is that everyone in the magical community is after him—even if they don’t realize it yet. They’ve been looking for him for centuries; not only for him, but for his soul. But they never counted on him having me. I will protect him with my every breath and take down anyone that gets in our way. His soul belongs with me, not in the arms of evil.

The Enchanter’s Soul is the second book in The Ellwood Chronicles and is a continuation of Sebastian and Ailin’s story. It contains explicit material and is intended for mature adults 18 years of age and older.

Recommended Reading Order:

The Enchanter’s Flame
The Witch’s Seal
The Enchanter’s Soul

Continue reading “Review: The Enchanter’s Soul”

Review: The Enchanter’s Flame

Review: The Enchanter’s Flame

The Enchanter’s Flame by Michele Notaro
Series: The Ellwood Chronicles #1
Release Date: August 18, 2018
Genres: M/M paranormal romance
Rating: 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟

Strange things are happening all around Brinnswick. Things that remind me of a piece of my past I’d rather forget. Girls are being killed, drained of blood, and left with strange markings on their bodies. When I finally connect the cases together, a specialist is called in—though, what he’s a specialist of is beyond me.

When the chief assigns him as my new partner for the case, I can’t help but groan on the inside. Why of all people would I be assigned to Ailin Ellwood? The man is a disaster waiting to happen and a jerk to boot. A sexy jerk, but a jerk nonetheless.

What will Sebastian think when he discovers Ailin’s specialty? Will he make a run for it or will he stick around and discover a world of magic hidden beneath the city’s surface?

Continue reading “Review: The Enchanter’s Flame”

Review: First Drop of Crimson

Review: First Drop of Crimson

First Drop of Crimson by Jeaniene Frost
Series: Night Huntress World #1
Release Date: July 5, 2010
Genres: Paranormal romance
Rating: 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟

The night is not safe for mortals.

Denise MacGregor knows all too well what lurks in the shadows – her best friend is half-vampire Cat Crawfield – and she has already lost more than the average human could bear. But her family’s dark past is wrapped in secrets and shrouded in darkness – and a demon shapeshifter has marked Denise as prey. Now her survival depends on an immortal who craves a taste of her.

He is Spade, a powerful, mysterious vampire who has walked the earth for centuries and is now duty-bound to protect this endangered, alluring human – even if it means destroying his own kind. Denise may arouse his deepest hungers, but Spade knows he must fight his urge to have her as they face the demon nightmare together…

Because once the first drop of crimson falls, they will both be lost.

Continue reading “Review: First Drop of Crimson”

Review: Relentless

Review: Relentless

Relentless by Karen Lynch
Series: Relentless #1
Release Date: December 26, 2013
Genres: YA paranormal
Rating: 🌟 🌟 🌟

Sara Grey’s world shattered ten years ago when her father was brutally murdered. Now at seventeen, she is still haunted by memories of that day and driven by the need to understand why it happened. She lives a life full of secrets and her family and friends have no idea of the supernatural world she is immersed in or of Sara’s own very powerful gift.

In her quest for answers about her father’s death, Sara takes risks that expose her and her friends to danger and puts herself into the sights of a sadistic vampire. On the same fateful night she meets Nikolas, a warrior who turns Sara’s world upside down and is determined to protect her even if it’s the last thing she wants.

Sara’s life starts to spin out of control as she is hunted by an obsessed vampire, learns that her friends have secrets of their own and reels from the truth about her own ancestry. Sara has always been fiercely independent but in order to survive now she must open herself to others, to reveal her deepest secrets. And she must learn to trust the one person capable of breaking down the walls around her.

Continue reading “Review: Relentless”

Review: Slasher Girls and Monster Boys

Review: Slasher Girls and Monster Boys

Slasher Girls & Monster Boys by Various Authors
Release Date: August 18, 2015
Genres: Paranormal
Rating: 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟

A host of the smartest young adult authors come together in this collection of scary stories and psychological thrillers curated by Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea’s April Genevieve Tucholke.

Each story draws from a classic tale or two—sometimes of the horror genre, sometimes not—to inspire something new and fresh and terrifying. There are no superficial scares here; these are stories that will make you think even as they keep you on the edge of your seat. From bloody horror to supernatural creatures to unsettling, all-too-possible realism, this collection has something for any reader looking for a thrill.

Fans of TV’s The Walking Dead, True Blood, and American Horror Story will tear through tales by these talented authors:

Stefan Bachmann
Leigh Bardugo
Kendare Blake
A. G. Howard
Jay Kristoff
Marie Lu
Jonathan Maberry
Danielle Paige
Carrie Ryan
Megan Shepherd
Nova Ren Suma
McCormick Templeman
April Genevieve Tucholke
Cat Winters

Continue reading “Review: Slasher Girls and Monster Boys”

Mini-Reviews: The Darkest Powers Trilogy

Mini-Reviews: The Darkest Powers Trilogy

Sometimes I read too fast and can’t keep up with the reviews. Here are a few of those books.

The Summoning by Kelley Armstrong
Series: Darkest Powers #1
Release Date: July 1, 2008
Genre: YA paranormal
Rating: 🌟 🌟

This series had a really rough start. It had all the potential to be a great YA paranormal story. And I’m a huge fan of Armstrong’s Cainsville series, so I thought I’d give this a chance.

The Summoning follows a fifteen year old named Chloe who is sent to a group home with other “disturbed” kids after she reveals she can see ghosts. There she meets a few other “troubled” kids, the bubbly Liz, a mysterious Derek, and a friendly Simon.

My biggest problem is that this could have been a lot more exciting than it was. The beginning was pretty good, but that fades towards the middle of the story. It definitely gets a bit more interesting towards the end which is why I decided to give the next book a go.

4 stars

The Awakening by Kelley Armstrong
Series: Darkest Powers #2
Release Date: April 28, 2009
Genre: YA paranormal
Rating: 🌟 🌟 🌟

Another awful cliffhanger lol. I’d recommend this series to everyone who loves them. This series still hasn’t caputred my attention 100%. But I’m going to keep reading them cause I’m curious to see how everything ends.

This picks up right where The Summoning ends. It starts off a bit rough, but quickly picks up. Derek is still my favorite character. He’s had such a rough life. He has no one to turn to but his foster brother. He just pulls at my heartstrings.

2 stars

The Summoning by Kelley Armstrong
Series: Darkest Powers #3
Release Date: April 6, 2010
Genre: YA paranormal
Rating: 🌟 🌟 🌟

I had the same problem here as the first two book. This was so action packed the last 20% of the book, but everything before that was just in a sort of limbo.

I know this is an unpopular opinion probably, but I really liked the love triangle between Chloe, Simon, and Derek. I always love love triangles where you really don’t know who the end game couple is. In this instance, I really could have seen the love triangle go either way.

I also enjoyed the ending. There were a few loose ends, but nothing I couldn’t live without. I’d recommend this to younger teens looking for an entertaining paranormal story.

4 stars