ARC Review: What’s Broken Between Us

What's Broken Between UsWhat’s Broken Between Us by Alexis Bass
Release Date: December 29, 2015
Genre: YA Contemporary
Rating: 🌟 🌟

From Alexis Bass, author of Love and Other Theories, comes her heartbreakingly beautiful second novel, perfect for fans of Gayle Forman and of Robyn Schneider’s The Beginning of Everything.Tragedy struck Amanda’s town a year and a half ago, when a car accident on graduation night resulted in one death, one debilitating injury, and one incarceration.

Amanda’s brother, Jonathan, was behind the wheel and too drunk to drive. He’s spent the past year in prison and has cut off all ties to the outside world he once knew. But now Jonathan is coming home, and Amanda must figure out what that means for her family, herself, and her former crush Henry, whose sister survived the crash with horrible injuries.

What’s Broken Between Us is a tale of love, loss, and learning to forgive.

“Look to the left, look to the right, we’re all going to die. But someone has to do it first. So who’s it going to be?”

I am so conflicted. I had such a hard time rating this book.

What’s Broken Between Us is about a boy named Johnathan who decides to drink and drive on graduation night and ends up killing his best friend Grace and injuring his girlfriend, Sutton. His unapologetic and self-destructive attitude leads the public to condemn him, and his D.U.I. and manslaughter charges end up sending him to jail for a year, a sentence many see as too lenient. His younger sister, Amanda, is left to deal with the social fallout.

I think the main reason I had such a hard time with this book was because of the characters. They just kept making these choices that were clearly the wrong ones.

When Jonathan returns home he immediately begins to fall back into bad habits which include drinking and staying out all night even though his probation clearly forbids all of these. I just wanted to knock some sense into him throughout the book.

And then there’s Amanda and Henry, Sutton’s younger brother, trying to deal with their feeling for each other. (view spoiler) But Amanda does experience a lot of growth throughout the story though. So does her father, though I thought it was a little too late for that.

Also, wasn’t such a huge fan of the ending. But this book was well written so I flew through it in a few hours.

two star

One thought on “ARC Review: What’s Broken Between Us

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s